Facebook Instagram
Buy Tickets
Home > About > Grand Marshal

Grand Marshal

Jim Cant, 2023 Elgin Stampede Grand Marshal

Jim Cant came to his first Elgin Stampede in 1968 where he was a rodeo contestant in bareback. He became a member after his marriage to Mary Hibberd in 1978. Mary's parents Dick and Laurose Hibberd were charter members of the Elgin Stampede.

It was only natural that he became involved in the maintenance and improvements to the grounds. In the summer of 1986, while co-president, they painted the entire rodeo stands. He went through over 180 gallons of white paint to complete that job. Volunteers have always kept the stampede going and he can remember putting hours into the grounds to make improvements.

Over the years you could see Jim’s excavating equipment on the Stampede grounds, providing support to the improvement projects planned or needed that year. He remembers helping tear down the old stands with his backhoe and trackhoe (the same ones that he helped paint years before) to make room for the grandstands you see today.

He was a sponsor to the Stampede in the early 1990s through the early 2010s. He fondly remembers the concerts that the stampeders hosted, specifically the Sweetheart of the Rodeo group.

Jim participated in the Suicide Race 3 times. In his first race in 1978 he rode a horse borrowed from Pat Hammond. In 1979 he rode to add participant numbers to the race. He ultimately won the race in 1980 on a horse called Babe. This was a mare Dave Shepherd left on the Hibberd Hornless Hereford ranch that he had to finish breaking from a colt. Horses are nearly as famous as their riders in the history of this race.

Jim has three children. JD Cant (wife Audrey, and children Jayda, Jeytt, Justis, and Joren), Jamie Jo Haddock (husband Tony, and children Olivia and Whitney), and Kristi Williamson (husband Chase, and children Kale and Kinley). During Stampede week, you will likely see his grandchildren participating in the rodeo, family night, or flipping burgers in the back shack.

Jim understands how much work the Stampeders put in over the year to hold this event for our community and wishes to extend his gratitude for this honor.

Past Stampede Grand Marshals

2022 Betty Lou Martin
2021 Dale & Julianne Clark
2019 Marion McCrae
2018 Jim Travis
2017 Ed Botz
2016 Nelda Payne
2015 Chris Christenson
2014 Jerry & Donna Williams
2013 Rich Cason
2012 Linda Moore
2011 Derv Fortenberry
2010 Norma Rysdam
2009 Joe & Phyllis Bechtel
2008 Dell & Sally Parsons
2007 Reta Hindman
2006 Genevieve Wells
2005 George Follett
2004 Edna Stowe
2003 Sonny Weatherspoon
2002 Jack Pruett
2001 Odies Payne & Stagecoach Crew
2000 John & Alta Hunt
1999 Wayne & Karrel Johnson
1998 Royce & Hazel Moore
1997 Margaret Follett
1996 Ross Hardy
1995 Thordis Whittemore
1994 Larry Shaffer
1993 Stewart Guthery
1992 Milt Heighes
1991 Willie Schlegel
1990 Fancis Adams
1989 Betty Trump
1988 Beth Krause-Miller
1987 Garrett & Cecile Van Arsdale
1986 Jay Follett
1985 Henry Sallee
1984 Billy Hindman
1983 Myra & Walter Klinghammer
1982 Dean Moore
1981 Bus Courtney
1980 Irene Gilliam
1979 Ern Adams
1978 Pete Trump
1977 Ken Murchison
1976 Laurose Hibberd
1975 Jim McClure
1974 Larry Follett
1973 Francis Miller
1972 Harry Gilliam
1971 Lenau Tucker
1970 Rex Roulet
1969 Carl Long
1966 Jay Follett

Back to
Buy Tickets